Categories

Shopping & DealsTravelHome & LivingSmart HomeStreaming & Entertainment

More

About UsContactFor AdvertisersPrivacy PolicyTerms of Use
Smart Home Review

The Nest Hub and Ring’s Wired Doorbell Pro: The Questions Neither Company Answers in Writing

RV By  Read Vault Editorial Team 5 min read
The Nest Hub and Ring’s Wired Doorbell Pro: The Questions Neither Company Answers in Writing

A smart display and a doorbell are bought together, not instead of each other. What they share is how much a buyer has to guess, starting with whether the two work together at all.

Google begins removing access to Google Assistant on 4 September 2026, three days after this was written, and once it has gone from a device there is no switching back. That is the most important thing to know about buying a Nest Hub (2nd gen) today, and it is not on the product page, which still carries a buy button. Setting that display against a Ring doorbell is not a comparison either, since people own both. What the two genuinely share is a documentation problem, and it starts with whether they work with each other.

Ring will not say whether this doorbell works with Google Home

Ring’s product page documents Alexa integration, including Alexa Greetings, and states that the Ring app is required. It does not state support for Google Home, for Apple Home, for Matter or for Thread, and no first-party Ring source confirming or denying any of them could be found. That silence is what a buyer has to work with: anyone planning to watch their front door on a Google display is buying on an assumption the manufacturer has never put in writing.

The honest instruction is unglamorous. Treat an unlisted integration as absent. Vendors that support an ecosystem generally say so by name on the product page, because compatibility badges sell hardware. When the list stops at Alexa, the safe reading is that the list stops at Alexa, and the only way to find out otherwise is to buy from a retailer whose returns are painless.

The name on the listing does not identify the hardware

Ring’s naming compounds the problem. The 2021 Video Doorbell Pro 2 became the Wired Doorbell Pro in 2024, a change Ring’s own FAQ describes as nothing but a name. In 2025 that same Wired Doorbell Pro name went onto a new 4K camera, on sale from 29 October 2025 at $249.99, while the 1536p original continued at $129.99 on the same site. Tom’s Guide describes the newer unit as replacing the previous model in the lineup, a replacement Ring has not acted on.

So two questions a specification sheet normally settles, which product this is and whether it works with the rest of the house, are both open at the point of purchase. Neither is difficult for Ring to answer, and neither is answered.

The subscription terms are documented; the alternative is not

Credit where it is due: Ring’s plan pricing is public and legible. What is easy to miss is that recording is not a feature of the doorbell, it is a feature of the plan. Tom’s Guide states plainly that a Ring subscription is mandatory to access video recordings, and that the 4K model does not support Ring Edge local storage.

That second clause is the one to read twice. Ring Edge existed as a route to keeping footage locally, and the newest and most expensive doorbell in the range does not offer it. A buyer comparing the $249.99 camera with the $129.99 one is not only comparing resolution, they are comparing what happens if they ever stop paying, and the answer on the new model is that the video stops existing.

Google says it is committed to displays, and will not say to what

Android Authority reported on 21 August 2026 that the Nest Hub (2nd gen), the Nest Hub Max and the Pixel Tablet were all out of stock on the Google Store simultaneously, with only an email-notify option, and that Google had not responded to its enquiry. That is a five-year-old product, with no refresh, no announced successor, and a store page that still behaves as though it were for sale.

For a buyer, the missing document is a support commitment. Google has never published how long a Nest Hub of this generation will receive updates. The purchase therefore rests on an unstated assumption about a product line the manufacturer cannot currently ship, three days before the assistant it was designed around begins to be withdrawn from other devices.

Nobody documents the free tier

Nest Aware became Google Home Premium on 1 October 2025. Standard is $10 a month or $100 a year and covers 30 days of event video history, Gemini Live on speakers and displays, familiar-face and package alerts and sound detection for glass breaking and smoke alarms. Advanced is $20 a month or $200 a year, adding 60 days of history, ten days of 24/7 recording, conversational search across that video and daily Home Brief summaries.

What a Nest Hub owner keeps by paying nothing is not stated. The detail that ought to bother existing owners is that Gemini Live on a display already sitting on their counter is inside the paid tier, so the replacement for the assistant being removed is partly a subscription feature. A reader can plan around a documented free tier. They cannot plan around silence, and silence is what this category offers by default.

Run the arithmetic before the purchase rather than after it. The Standard tier is $100 a year, indefinitely, on hardware bought once; the Advanced tier is $200. A display and a doorbell bought together in the same week can therefore carry two subscriptions, one from Google and one from Ring, neither of which is quoted on the box that persuaded anyone to buy. That is the number a buyer should be given up front, and it is the number nobody prints.

How to shop when the spec sheet says nothing

  • Treat unlisted ecosystem support as absent, and do not design a house around a compatibility nobody has printed.
  • Find out what a free tier retains before buying a camera or a display, and if the vendor will not publish it, budget for the subscription as part of the hardware price.
  • Ask what happens to existing recordings if you cancel, and check whether local storage is offered on the specific model rather than the product family.
  • Check the same product on the maker’s product page and on its category page, because on 1 September 2026 several of these vendors were contradicting themselves.
  • Prefer sellers with easy returns for any device whose key capability is undocumented, since plugging it in is the only remaining test.

Sources: Ring · Tom’s Guide · Tom’s Guide · Android Authority · 9to5Google

How Read Vault is funded. Read Vault is reader-supported. Some of our articles contain affiliate links, and we may earn a commission when you buy through one, at no extra cost to you. Commission never decides what we recommend or how we rank it.
RV
Read Vault Editorial Team

Articles on Read Vault are researched and written by the site’s editorial team.

Latest articles